Super Bowl Recap

What a strange super bowl!  For a while there when the lights were out I found myself wondering if they were going to have to reschedule it?  Thinking about that now, I realize how ridiculous and not possible that is but holy moly that was weird.

Despite the fact that Casey is pretty bummed about the outcome of the game, it was a great game to watch.  Strangely, even when they were down by four scores, I never really counted the 49ers out of it.  After the lights came back, that game was an absolute fight to the finish.

Now, on the other side of being sad for Casey, I am very happy for Joe Flacco.  I am a University of Delaware alum and was there when he was playing for UD.  So now I can say I went to school with a Superbowl winning, MVP quarterback!  No big deal.  I just hope people will give him some credit at this point, he has been in the playoffs all five years of his career and now has THE ring, so get off his back!!  And he announced he is having a baby, so big day for Joe.

For those of you that only read this for fitness and food, I am sorry about the football explosion that just happened above but you are free for about 6 months from hearing about it.

We had amazing kabobs that Casey, his dad and I assembled and took over to the party.

2013-02-03 17.14.47

They were so awesome and pretty healthy since they are mostly vegetable based with just a little bit of meat (chicken or steak).

They had a HUGE screen (well sheets) to project the game in the back yard while everyone grilled and shucked oysters and hung out outside; and there were more tvs with the game inside!

2013-02-03 18.13.22

Once the game finally concluded, we headed off the long awaited (2 years!) sandwich off between two of our friends!  This was supposed to happen at last year’s Superbowl but one of the contenders is a huge Pats fan, so it had to be postponed.

sandwich off

It was a close call but the sandwich on the bottom ultimately won, but only by one vote.  It had roast beef, pesto, fried eggplant, mozzarella cheese and lettuce and it was phenomenal.  The top sandwich had many meats and by all standards was a manwich.  (Man, sandwich, see what i did there!)  I just thought the flavors were so well melded together in the bottom sandwich and I am always a sucker for pesto.

Now, you can see that the majority of the day yesterday I spent eating, the sweet foods weren’t even included in this post!  Today’s run had to reflect that.  I made a plan that I would run a minimum of 6 miles and set off.  I ended up running 10.68 miles.  I felt great honestly and the weather was perfect.  I averaged a 7:47 mile which is pretty much faster than I have ever done a 10 miler and faster than my half marathon PR pace.  There is a local half marathon that I am toying around with running Saturday, especially after my success today!

Hope everyone else had a great day-after-the-superbowl-workout!!

Have you ever spontaneously signed up for a race just a few days (or the day) before?  If so, how did it go?

Leave a Reply

