Gotta Love a Puppy

We had some minor drama this morning that could have been quite major.  From pretty much the time we got up, Scarlett threw up.  Then she threw up again, and again, walked around crying.  She sat down, laid down, got up walked around, cried some more.  After like 3 hours of this we finally called the vet and they told us we should come in and have her checked out.  Right as we were getting ready to leave, she had one last big throw up, including the round black plastic bumper pad that is on the bottom of mac lap tops.  She was like a whole new dog once she got that out.  We still took her in but she was fine at that point.

That whole experience broke up the day pretty much but I was still able to get a good amount of school work done, read some of my book (I have to finish it before Sunday before it goes off my kindle).  I went for a short run and did some yoga, still working off some soreness from last weekend’s race.  I have really been enjoying yoga a lot lately and have been really making an effort to work some amount (even if it is just 20 minutes) into every day.

I made Shepherds Pie for dinner from this recipe.  It is pretty good and we have used it quite a few times before.  I use this recipe pretty loosely.  I always favor veggies in meals like this, so we only used 1 pound 93/7 ground beef and I increased all the veggies (except the peas).  I do my mashed potatoes quite differently as well.

2.5 lbs skin on red potatoes

2 tablespoons butter

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 cup skim milk

3/4 cup shredded mozzarella

This amount of ingredients makes more than enough every time and it a little healthier with less butter and no heavy cream.  Procedurally it is the same though!  I will add the whole recipe with changes at some point this weekend because now as I read this I can tell it is pretty different.  The basic framework is here though if anyone is dying to make it now.

We are staying in and laying low this Friday night, watching Safe House and hanging out on the couch.

Have a great start to your weekend everyone!!

 

Leave a Reply

