Back on Track

Today was my January 1st.  I drank all of my 8 glasses (plus some) of water and ate like a true healthy champion!

I easily met my 5 fruits/veggies today.  For lunch I made an omelet with spinach (1), crushed tomatoes (2), feta cheese and three eggs.  It whipped up so quick due to my slight cheating.  I had a can of crushed tomatoes in the cabinet and I don’t think I will ever make it another way now.  It was so easy and the flavor and consistency was awesome in the dish.  I even had a serving of carrots (3) with hummus while I was waiting for it to cook.

2013-01-02 13.19.52

Its not pretty, but it was delicious

Its not pretty, but it was delicious

As a snack before running group I had a HUGE honey crisp apple (my new favorite) (4). Fo r dinner we had a stir fry with more spinach, onions, peppers, mushrooms (5-7) with brown rice and some stir fry sauce.

2013-01-02 20.45.31

Other than a good day of eating, I took Scarlett for her last set of boosters so now (other than her spay) we don’t have to go back for a whole year.  She weighs 25 pounds now…I can hardly believe how fast she is growing.

2013-01-02 10.30.28

I finished my book, The Book Thief and highly recommend this one!

book theif

What I loved most about this one is that it is written from the perspective of a German girl living through World War II.  I went through a spurt in middle school where I read so many books about WWII but they were all about the Jewish struggle.  This book really showed that it wasn’t all peaches and cream for the German citizens living there during this time.  I was able to get it from the library on my new kindle and was afraid I wouldn’t finish it in time (2 weeks) but I flew through it even though it was rather long!

Finished up today with my first run of 2013 run with the group at Lululemon.  We did a five miler at a brisk pace and I ran 4 miles before I got there to make sure I got in my 9.  I kinda did the important components of both Tuesday and Thursday’s runs (4 miles at MP and 3 mile repeats).  Since both of those aspects were accomplished, I will run my nine miler tomorrow at an easy pace.

Feels good to have a day to be proud of both in my diet and activity!

How did your first run of 2013 go?

2 thoughts on “Back on Track

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Fall of Giants | runs4treats

Leave a Reply

