Post Christmas Gloom

Every year on the day after Christmas my mom and I hunt the deals on Christmas stuff for next year.  We went out at about 9, went by Starbucks (I got a Skinny Carmel Brulee…soo good and my mom got a skinny peppermint mocha).  We went to a bunch of places and came up mostly empty handed.  I did manage to get two pairs of jeans and a skirt at gap for $55 so I did pretty well there.  I hate buying jeans, but its like bras, you gotta have them and you will get good use out of them.

Before heading home my mom and I stopped at Panera Bread for breakfast.  I was trying to be calorie conscious so I just got a bowl of French Onion Soup (280) and a Baguette (100).  Lunch out for 380 calories isn’t bad and I was full until we had dinner.

I had planned to do yesterday’s run today since yesterday was Christmas but it was absolutely disgusting out.  It poured rain all day and had wind gusts up to 45 mph…our basketball hoop even blew over. I also don’t have a gym to go to that doesn’t cost atleast $15 for a day pass which is crazy.  So I decided to just let yesterday’s run go, in honor of Christmas I guess.

I couldn’t just do nothing though, so I hit up my favorite fitness blog, PBfingers, for a circuit I could do in the warmth and dryness of my house.   I started with an overall cardio circuit.

Jump Rope Circuit

It was really good and a lot harder than I thought it was going to be, as her circuits always are.  But my abs felt neglected and I really wanted to get about an hour in.  I wanted to keep with the jump rope theme and she had the perfect continuation of the first work out…

Jump Rope Abs

I also was soooo excited to find a timer that I could set for one minute “work” intervals and thirty second “rest” intervals that repeated as many times as I needed.

http://www.speedbagforum.com/timer.html

I am glad I got some activity in today.  I hate missing runs but going out today was going to do more harm than good.

Tomorrow is my last day at home and it is my little brother’s birthday.  I also have to go to the dentist tomorrow which is not high on my list of places I like to visit, but necessary.

sharp objects

I also finished my most recent book, Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn.  It was really good, but freaky as all her books were.  I am glad I read one in print instead of listening to the audiobook, just to have a different experience with it.  Just like her other books, lots of twists, turns, mystery and just overall odd characters.  I would highly recommend it.  It was a very quick read, I think I got through it in 3 days, even with the busy-ness of the holidays.

Has anyone else read anything good lately?  Does anyone have a good source for circuit workouts for bad weather days?

2 thoughts on “Post Christmas Gloom

Leave a Reply

