We made it through the end of the world!

Well if you are reading this, I guess you too have made it through the end of the world!

Whenever I come home I have a list of places I want to eat that I have to get to while I am here.  It is a lengthy list which means looooots of eating.

I got up early to get the run in today which I have told everyone I am not good at doing but I had a hair appointment and I didn’t want to have to run and sweat after I got my hair done all pretty.  I had a good run but it was windy and rainy and cold so the odds were against me.  I have 15 tomorrow and we are supposed to have wind around 25 mph…womp womp!  Good luck on everyone’s long runs tomorrow/Sunday!

I hurried home and took a shower and headed to my appointment.  The salon was all decked out for Christmas.

2012-12-21 10.59.29

There was even a man playing christmas songs on a keyboard with his very small dog dressed as santa…

2012-12-21 10.41.37

I have been getting my hair cut by Chea since I was like 13 years old so I was in desperate need for a cut living so far away.  Every time I go in there I say “Take off as little as possible, I love my length” and every time hair goes flying and somehow my hair is never shorter when I leave.  I have no idea how she does it; she is pure magic!

2012-12-21 11.55.35

Today for lunch we hit Agave, a fantastic mexican place that I had never been to.  It is super small so there was always too much of a wait to get in for dinner.  It was sooo incredible.  I got a margarita and my mom and I split a steak and blue cheese quesedilla with chipotle mayo that was to die for!  I am glad we split it because there is no way I could have eaten the whole thing.

We went on a shopping excursion for the rest of the afternoon getting last minute christmas gifts and checking out the deals.  Our outlet had UA cold gear tops buy one get one free and sports bras 2 for 30 which I have been in desperate need of so I feel like I made out like a bandit there.  I was also able to pick up something for Casey (not at UA though).

What was so refreshing today was how kind and happy and genuinely helpful everyone was in every store and restaurant and business.  It really (finally) truely put me in the holiday spirit and made me happy to be where I am from.  At the end of the day, before we headed home, my mom told me there was something she wanted me to see…

2012-12-21 16.52.54

2012-12-21 16.54.33

2012-12-21 16.00.56

Two young brothers from my community (in their 20’s) put up 20 wreaths and 6 crosses for the students and teachers that passed in Newtown, CT.  This here is what the Christmas season is about.  Not the gifts and the shopping and the food.  No, it is about truly caring about those around you and reaching out to people even if they may never know what you did.  I was inspired by this to do good as I hope everyone is this holiday season!

Leave a Reply

