Sometimes running just hurts

Through my run today, I was inspired to write a few different posts, so I decided I will just hit them all.

Running in Charleston is dangerous.  Thats all there is to it.  Even if you forget the fact that people don’t drive so great here (I have been hit by cars three times since I have lived here), the environment is just downright hazardous.  My cross country coach in high school spent a lot of time trying to get me to run with my head up, looking ahead of me.  It took about a whole season but it is something that has been instilled in me ever since.  However, this became obsolete upon moving here; you look up you eat it.  In my first week here, my roommate at the time took a spill, I have personally taken a spill and my current roommate Beth has also taken a spill.   Next time I am running I will snap a quick pick of the lovely sidewalks.

Then about half way into my nine mile run with 4×1 mile repeats I started to hurt.  I had to go up like 5 stairs in my second mile rep and on the third step my I had a shooting pain in my right knee.  I shook it off and kept going but just didn’t feel quite right.  I decided to just get my miles in and forget about the next two mile reps.  I still was “hurting” but decided it was probably more in my head that I didn’t feel like running any more (I hadn’t really wanted to go today from the beginning for some reason) and not that I was actually hurting.  I’m glad I pushed myself through and I did make me distance but my knees and hips are actually aching 8 hours later.

Right as I was about a half mile from my house, the song “My Body” by Young The Giant came on my Ipod.  The lyrics are, I quote…

“My Body tells me no, but I won’t quit, cause I want more…”

Sometimes I really think that my ipod is some how connected to my brain and knows exactly what I need to hear.  CRAZY!!

The rest of the day, Scarlett and I hit the dog park; it was so beautiful out.

She is getting sooooo big!!

She is getting sooooo big!!

Then I had to do lots of laundry and pack so we can head home tomorrow!  Its gonna be a long drive, especially since I will have to make extra stops with her but it will be worth it.  I have a few new recorded books to listen to, christmas music of course and theres always Pandora.  It will be worth it once I get there I know but I just wish someone would just go ahead and invent a teleportation machine already, I mean come on.

1 week till Christmas!!  Official Countdown is on!

Leave a Reply

