Miles and Miles and Miles

Today was a long run day, 20 miles.  It was also the Rehoboth Beach Marathon/half marathon and the Kiawah island marathon/half marathon.  Talk about motivation for my run today when I got up and saw so many of my friends posted race results on facebook!  Congrats to all those who raced today!!

I got all geared up to run and got ready to hit the road/trail.  Unfortunately, I have been chaffing pretty bad on my chest again so I have been suiting up with two sports bras for my long slow distance runs, meaning more laundry, womp womp!

Photo on 2012-12-08 at 12.10

What a pain!  I am begging for any sports bra advice, especially from any other runners out there with sensitive skin and tatas on the larger side!

The run itself went great.  I headed out on a trail I haven’t run since I trained for Savannah.  A majority of it has now been paved, which I had been told ahead of time by a friend.  I was excited about that going into it, but once I was actually on it I realized how much my legs appreciated the relief a dirt trail offered.  I have no control though, so I’ll just look at is is better training for the real race.  I finished my book with about 7 miles to go and switched to my long run playlist that I posted a few days ago.

The book was awesome: Dark Places by Gillian Flynn.  I highly recommend it if you like mystery books that are very compelling.  However, parts of it are kind of disturbing and a little graphic in the descriptions of the violence.  Just like to throw that out there before you get into it!

Beautiful views along the trail!

Beautiful views along the trail!

At mile 17th I had just about had it and then Ellie Goulding Anything Can Happen came on and I was re-energized, even singing and dancing while I was running.  Yay for Ellie!

When I got home I tried to do the yoga for runners video to stretch and got through one down dog before I abandoned that plan.  My legs just weren’t having it, they were hoping for a hot shower as a reward instead, which I gave in and got into.

So now I sit, enjoying another smoothie and return to my studying.  Prayers Monday and Tuesday will be greatly appreciated!!

Congrats to all those who raced today and anyone who conquered their long runs!!

Oh, and if you have sports bra advice…I AM IN DESPERATE NEED OF HELP!!

2 thoughts on “Miles and Miles and Miles

Leave a Reply

