Planes, Trains and Automobiles

Traveling is always glamorous in theory, not so much in reality.  Yesterday we had to take two trains in Philly just to be able to get to the airport.  Then we wandered down just about every terminal in the whole place looking for food finally settling on Chickie & Petes which wasn’t as impressive as I had hoped it would be.  Part of the problem I’m sure is that I started getting sick through out Sunday and was in a full blown fit of congestion so I couldn’t really taste much.

We boarded the first plane and I settled in to my book.  I only had about 100 pages left and was in the thick of things so I passed that flight rather quickly.

Upon arriving in Atlanta, we took the plain train to our next terminal and found a starbucks.  I got a tall skinny peppermint mocha for a travel treat and then we headed to our gate to await our boarding call.

I once again kicked back in my uggs and tights and finished my book, leaving me with nothing for the next flight but the work I should have been getting done the whole time.  I only managed to get the introduction to my paper written in the short flight from Atlanta but at least I had accomplished something.

As the travel wore on I felt like I was just getting sicker and sicker so by the time I actually made it hope I was just getting frustrated.  They say if you are sick from the neck up that running might make it better and I really wanted to get back on track so I hit the road for a short, easy 4 miler.  I can’t say it made me feel better for long but I don’t think it made it worse so thats a plus.

So that got me wondering, do you run when you are feeling not your best?  And how do you know when it is okay and when it’s not?  Any insight will be much appreciated because I don’t think this is going anywhere fast…

One thought on “Planes, Trains and Automobiles

  1. I tend to not run if I am super congested since I’d rather not risk making it worse. Sometimes, though, I actually feel better after a run. I guess my advice would be to take it day by day and listen to what your body is telling you.

Leave a Reply

