Did you say Chocolate milk?

So mixed news today…I went to the doctor to see what the heck has been going on since I gave blood and he basically said I did the opposite of blood doping myself (womp womp).  Good news is, he said the next week or so may be tough but I should be back to almost normal by the race (yay!!).  He also said not to give blood while training for a marathon again, its not really the best plan, POINT TAKEN!

Today, after doing the yoga for runners routine to stretch, I did a 9 mile run at “marathon goal pace”.  My goal for pace is around 8:20-8:30 miles but I am really terrible at staying in this range on ‘shorter’ runs (I know 9 miles isn’t short, but it is shorter than 26.2).  I ended up around an 8:10 pace, valiant effort at staying close to the range.  More importantly I felt pretty good, but am quite tuckered out now.  ALSO!  The shoes that I was so excited to try were great: no blisters, no funky running changes, just nice, cushy running!

Now, the title gets its meaning…

After finishing the marathon in Nashville, exhausted from the crazy hills and the 90 degree heat the first beverage I was offered was chocolate milk…I laughed in their face.  Direct quote was…

“would you like me to throw up on you?” 

However after passing it up post race, I was intrigued.  So when I got home I decided I would give it a go.  I drink regular, dairy milk usually but I love the way the Silk Soy Chocolate tastes so I picked up some of that.  I had no idea what it did for you, but boy was it something to look forward to when I got home from a run.  So I did a little research tonight and found an article from the exercise science department at Southern Connecticut State that said…”skeletal muscle protein turnover, leucine kinetics, and performance measures suggest unique benefits of milk compared with a CHO-only beverage.”  I’m thinking to get the benefits the experts as screaming about right now I may need to switch over to dairy chocolate milk post run, but the Silk will stay in the fridge because it is simply delicious.

As soon as I pick up some dairy chocolate milk and give it a go, I will keep you posted.  For now, I sign out to hopefully watch the 49ers beat the Seahawks (because the boyfriend (Casey) is a niners fan and my life is wayyyy better when they win).

Until next time, run on baking friends.

Leave a Reply

