Struggling

So, I decided to start this blog at an odd time, in the taper portion of training for my third marathon in Savannah, GA.  The race is in two and a half weeks and I have been set to run a PR by like 20 minutes (previous race in Nashville in April 3:54:49) and hopefully qualify for Boston until I did something stupid…

A friend of a friend was having a blood drive after a terrible accident and my stupid anemic self decided to give blood, three weeks before the race…STUPID!

So needless to say I am paying for that choice and my last few runs have been HARD, todays included.  The only thing getting me through was the smoothie I promised myself when I got home.

Work Out:

2.5 mile warm up

3×1 mile repeats at 10k pace (between 7:35-7:45) with 1/2 mile recovery intervals in between

2.5 mile cool down

Total: 9 miles

Everything was going great until the last mile repeat and then KABOOM my legs weighed 10000 pounds.  I decided to slow the pace for the last repeat and finish the run and get to my smoothie.

However! Positive of the day is that I have decided this month is going to be focus on flexibility month and I focused 10 minutes on basic stretches (hamstrings, glutes, calves, quads).  I, like most runners, neglect the stretch part of my work outs, so if you do too…take this month and focus on your flexibility!!

Todays treat:

Recipe:
1/2 cup fat free greek vanilla greek yogurt
1/2 cup of spinach (need that iron!)
1/3 cup frozen strawberries
1/3 cup frozen blueberries
1/3 cup frozen pineapples
Blend and enjoy it…you’ve earned it!

Until next time…run on baking friends!

3 thoughts on “Struggling

  1. hey boo, checked out your blog from your fb post – love it!! while I’m looking forward to trying the smoothie recipe, don’t be holding back on the baked goods recipes 😉

  2. Pingback: Happy National Runners Day!! | runs4treats

Leave a Reply

